Metallica have announced a massive reissue of the Black Album featuring covers from a total of 53 artists. Bands including Ghost, Weezer, Royal Blood, Volbeat and more will share their take on classic Metallica tracks, along with solo artists such as Elton John, Corey Taylor and Miley Cyrus.

The new Blacklist album, along with a remastered version of the original Black Album, will both be released Sept. 10 via Blackened Recordings. “With contributions from countries all over the globe from the U.S. to Nigeria, there are tracks from singer-songwriters, country artists, electronic, and hip-hop artists alongside punk rockers, indie darlings, icons of rock, metal, world music, and many, many more covering the entire spectrum from musicians we’ve shared the stage with, to some who were not even born yet when the original album was released!” Metallica write.

Additionally, 100 percent of the profits will be given to charity, split between Metallica’s All Within My Hands Foundation and charities chosen by all 53 guest artists.

​“In addition to raising money for charity, we wanted to show that Metallica’s music transcends genres, distance, and cultures, and we like to think that – with everyone’s help – we’ve done just that. It was important to us that the artists could choose whichever song they most connected to; it didn’t matter if we already had multiple versions of a song, if an artist wanted to cover that song, so be it. We were honored to have artists of this caliber want to be a part of the project and we hope you enjoy listening as much as we enjoyed putting it all together!"

See the full track listing for Blacklist below along with Metallica’s teaser clips for the new releases. Click here to pre-order Blacklist and check out the Miley Cyrus cover of "Nothing Else Matters" with Watt, Elton John, Yo Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo and Chad Smith below.

Blacklist Track Listing:

01.Enter Sandman (Alessia Cara & The Warning)
02. Enter Sandman (Mac DeMarco)
03. Enter Sandman (Ghost)
04. Enter Sandman (Juanes)
05. Enter Sandman (Rina Sawayama)
06. Enter Sandman (Weezer)
07. Sad But True (Sam Fender)
08. Sad But True (Jason Isbell)
09. Sad But True (Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX)
10. Sad But True (Royal Blood)
11. Sad But True (St. Vincent)
12. Sad But True (White Reaper)
13. Sad But True (YB)

01. Holier Than Thou (Biffy Clyro)
02. Holier Than Thou (The Chats)
03. Holier Than Thou (OFF!)
04. Holier Than Thou (PUP)
05. Holier Than Thou (Corey Taylor)
06. The Unforgiven (Cage The Elephant)
07. The Unforgiven (Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police)
08. The Unforgiven (Diet Cig)
09. The Unforgiven (Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch)
10. The Unforgiven (Ha*Ash)
11. The Unforgiven (José Madero)
12. The Unforgiven (Moses Sumney)

01. Wherever I May Roam (J Balvin)
02. Wherever I May Roam (Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee)
03. Wherever I May Roam (The Neptunes)
04. Wherever I May Roam (Jon Pardi)
05. Don’t Tread On Else Matters (SebastiAn)
06. Don’t Tread On Me (Portugal. The Man)
07. Don’t Tread On Me (Volbeat)
08. Through The Never (The HU)
09. Through The Never (Tomi Owó)
10. Nothing Else Matters (Phoebe Bridgers)
11. Nothing Else Matters (Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith)
12. Nothing Else Matters (Dave Gahan)
13. Nothing Else Matters (Mickey Guyton)
14. Nothing Else Matters (Dermot Kennedy)
15. Nothing Else Matters (Mon Laferte)

01. Nothing Else Matters (Igor Levit)
02. Nothing Else Matters (My Morning Jacket)
03. Nothing Else Matters (PG Roxette)
04. Nothing Else Matters (Darius Rucker)
05. Nothing Else Matters (Chris Stapleton)
06. Nothing Else Matters (TRESOR)
07. Of Wolf And Man (Goodnight, Texas)
08. The God That Failed (IDLES)
09. The God That Failed (Imelda May)
10. My Friend Of Misery (Cherry Glazerr)
11. My Friend Of Misery (Izïa)
12. My Friend Of Misery (Kamasi Washington)
13. The Struggle Within (Rodrigo y Gabriela)

The Metallica Blacklist (Official Trailer)

Metallica: The Black Album (Remastered) (Official Trailer)

Miley Cyrus With Watt, Elton John, Yo Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo and Chad Smith, "Nothing Else Matters"


These Are the Rock + Metal Bands Touring in 2021

Your guide to rock and metal bands' return to tours in 2021.

More From