Aroostook Aspirations Initiative has named its Gauvin Scholars for 2019.

The nonprofit has chosen 15 Aroostook high school seniors to receive a $1000 scholarship from AAI to help in their first year of college. The students will also receive a matching $1000 scholarship from their Aroostook County college to go toward their second academic year.

Students must attend one of the four college or universities in Aroostook County to qualify as a Gauvin Scholar, as well as be a full-time student, have a desire to live and work in Aroostook after completing their secondary education and demonstrate the need for financial aid. Aroostook Aspirations also gives preference to first generation college students, those being the first member of their immediate family to go on to college.

Founder and President of the Board, Sandy Gauvin, says another great group of scholars was selected this year. "They are hard-working young people with strong determination to get a college education and work in the County in a variety of careers.  We are very proud of them,”

The Gauvin Scholarship applications were scored and selected by a volunteer board of 16 scholarship committee members made up of professionals, educators, business and community members.

Here is the complete list of 2019 Gauvin Scholars:

The scholars who are planning to attend the University of Maine at Fort Kent include: Mykayla Bresett, 2019 Hampton Inn Gauvin Scholar of Van Buren High School; Abigail Dionne, of Easton High School; Dylan Jurson of Hodgdon High School; Jordan Labbe, 2019 WAGM-TV Gauvin Scholar of Fort Kent High School; and Benjamin Ruest of Madawaska High School.

Scholars with plans to attend the University of Maine at Presque Isle include: Elizabeth Collins of Presque Isle High School; Kayla Creasey, 2019 Hampton Inn Gauvin Scholar of Washburn High School; Karoline Dillenbeck, Cary Medical Center Gauvin Scholar of Caribou High School, Kassandra Farley of Washburn High School; Grady McKeough, 2019 Hampton Inn Gauvin Scholar of Caribou High School; Kassandra Nelson of Ashland District High School; Kylie Vining of Southern Aroostook Community School; and Samantha White, 2019 Northern Light Health Gauvin Scholar of Washburn High School.

Scholars planning to attend Northern Maine Community College include: Johnathan Hardy of Southern Aroostook Community School and Kelsey Sewell, 2019 Katahdin Trust Gauvin Scholar of Houlton High School.

For more information about Aroostook Aspirations Initiative and the 2019 Gauvin Scholars, visit or contact Program Coordinator, Rachael McDivitt at (207) 768-9418 or

More From